The Long and Short of It

There’s no need to skirt the issue, I absolutely adore styling around  maxi skirts and pencil skirts!  ….Talk about versatile! They can both be worn during all the seasons and also  be dressed up or down.

0F44C5FE-7EE1-4EC0-BB02-73DFBA9103B3

That being said- I decided to style two different spring looks  centered around  a navy blue maxi skirt and pencil skirt!  I hope you like the two different looks!!

Let’s go with the maxi first!!  Maxi skirts are easily worn by all body shapes! . There are so many gorgeous styles available- for example  draped, pleated, asymmetrical, frilled or straight skirts.   The trick is to choose the one that flatters your shape the most!

6CCFBD0C-FD48-47D3-99C9-E35A696611B1

One  of the things that I look to avoid is my height or lack there of! At 5’5”,  I am always wanting to appear taller.  That being said, I try to choose a less voluminous shaped skirt, and  wear it at the smallest part of my waist (high waist) so that the skirt’s length will make me  appear to be  taller. I also wear my skirts with heels ( this being for height and the fact that I just love heels -always have…always will!

D44C9179-566E-4EAE-8CD7-98B2C64B7F92

An easy and versatile color for a maxi skirt is navy blue. It is such an easy color to style throughout the seasons and is a one of the fashion neutral colors which can be worn with any other color.  My skirt is a dark navy blue which can often be seen as a black in a low light.  I always keep navy slacks and skirts (both maxi and pencil skirts)  as  must have elements in my foundational wardrobe.  This skirt  has an elastic waistline and is easy to wear with tops both tucked and untucked.  Today, I chose to pair this skirt with a blue and white dotted tunic. I have also worn this top untucked both loose and flowing as well as belted. It is an extremely easy top to incorporate into many different looks.

768CE806-1FF4-470F-9100-4AC214981855

A friend of mine teased me about wearing my white boots with the navy maxi. I almost went with navy shoes, but I just could not resist the pop of white peeking out of the hem! They also just seemed to work well with the white shades! I am always excited about the arrival of spring because I am a huge fan of white sunnies and  always bring them out and about on the regular when the weather warms up!!

The second look is styled with a dark navy pencil skirt. I just added this one to my wardrobe from TJ Maxx.   No zipper – it has an elastic waist. So easy to wear.  I wanted to style a little more tailored look with this skirt. I paired it with a  white short sleeved summer turtleneck.

92238A36-DC72-4F91-B04A-9098AAE5B160

I could easily wear the top and skirt without any other additions, but y’all know that I have to add details to the look.  I have this almost vintage jacket in turquoise and thought that it would be nice with a  navy belt with a  turquoise and pink floral design. Navy Nine West pumps and a pink bag to give a nod to the pink in my belt.

6CD119F6-03E5-4AD4-A804-AC6F0F76DCB1

3558FC8B-01C6-4BCA-8809-33B9B673EE31

The common elements used in both looks are the white sunnies and the navy hat!  Two different skirts and two different looks can always share common details.  I mention this because so often I have friends who only wear some accessories  with certain outfits -which really is a shame since these elements could really bring a lot to other outfits in their wardrobes. Step out of the routine way of styling looks and mix it up a bit!! Experiment with your baubles!!!!

4D6D9592-0D4E-424F-B1CC-1D69940685E9

This spring and summer, take a tour of your closet and pull out those maxi skirts and pencil skirts that you already have. Take note of the colors and styles and style away!!! Mix and Match.  Pay attention to what you see online and on display in the shops. Use what you have and add a few new elements to your wardrobe when shopping.  You will probably be surprised at what potential already exists in your closet.  Let me know if you need help!! I will be glad to lend a fashion hand in any way I can.

After all, we are all on this journey together, and we are all meant to shine!!!  That is what style sisters are for, right!  We should cheer for, support, lift up, and even carry each other if need be!!!  Keep smiling and sharing your light with those around you!!

 

Leave a comment